Schedule of Events - Annual Meeting 2021

The Academy is closely monitoring the COVID-19 pandemic to ensure the utmost safety of all 2021 Annual Meeting attendees. Program schedule and content is subject to change. Stay tuned to for the latest information.

*All times below are listed in Eastern Standard Time.

8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

HW1: Full Arch Esthetics and Digital Workflow: The Real-World Approach
Program Track: Emerging Concepts and Innovative Therapies
Moderator: Matthew Thomas Waite
Speakers: B. J. Kowalski and Gregory A. Toback

1 – 4 p.m.

ABP2: American Board Review Part 2
Program Track: Leadership, Personal, and Practice Development
Moderator: Jeffrey A. Rossmann
Speakers: Jennifer Bain and Carlos Parra Carrasquer

1 – 4:45 p.m.

Corporate Forum

5:30 – 7 p.m.

Awards Ceremony

7 – 8:30 p.m.

AAP Foundation Donor Appreciation Reception

8 – 10 a.m.

10 a.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Member Resource Center

10 a.m. – 3 p.m.

10 – 10:45 a.m.

Coffee Service in Exhibit Hall

12:15 – 1:45 p.m.

District Forum: Districts 1-8

12:30 – 2 p.m.

2 – 3 p.m.

GS2: Robert J. Genco Perio-Systemic Symposium
Program Track: Periodontal and Systemic Interrelationships
Speakers: Alan C. Moses and Thomas E. Van Dyke

5 – 6:30 p.m.

Networking Reception

8 – 9:30 a.m.

GS3: Should We Pull the Plug? Do We Need a Third Dentition? (Point-Counterpoint)
Program Track: Emerging Concepts and Innovative Therapies
Moderator: Sejal Thacker
Speakers: Howard M. Chasolen and Pierpaolo Cortellini

10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Member Resource Center

10 – 10:45 a.m.

Coffee Service in Exhibit Hall

3 – 4:30 a.m.

GS4: Single Anterior Implant: A Long Term Challenge
Program Track: Periodontal Plastic and Soft Tissue Surgery
Moderator: Bobby Butler
Speakers: Stephen J. Chu and Dennis Tarnow

5 – 6 p.m.

General Assembly Business Session

9 – 10:30 a.m.

GS5: The Arch Nemesis: Compromised Maxillary Anterior Edentulous Region
Program Track: Tissue Engineering and Hard Tissue Reconstruction
Moderator: Rodrigo Neiva
Speakers: Kenneth A. Malament, Craig Misch, and Ion Zabalegui

10 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Member Resource Center

10 – 10:45 a.m.

Coffee Service in Exhibit Hall

11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

FCE8: The Winners Circle
2019 Balint Orban and Poster Presentation Winners
Moderator: Frank A. Roberts
Speaker: Eswar Kandaswamy (Research Forum – Clinical Impact and Clinical Science)

FCE9: Zirconium Implants: Do We Need a New Kid on the Block?
Program Track: Implant Surgery and Prosthetic Rehabilitation
Moderator: Michael Sonick
Speakers: Wael Att and Joerg Strub

IP3: Rising Stars

IP4: Perio Open Mic

2 – 3:30 p.m.

GS6: We Are Better Together: Perio-Pros Collaborations for Complex Cases
Program Track: Interdisciplinary Therapy
Moderators: Joseph Kan and Pamela K. McClain
Speakers (Teams): Dennis Tarnow and Stephen J. Chu; Sonia Leziy and Brahm Miller

*Please note that all information in this program including agenda, timing, faculty, and/or program content is subject to change.



The American Academy of Periodontology is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider. ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry. Concerns or complaints about a CE provider may be directed to the provider or to the Commission for Continuing Education Provider Recognition at

The American Academy of Periodontology designates this activity for 22.0 continuing education credits. For all CE activities, 0.25 credit hours will be awarded for each 15 minutes of activity time, not including breaks, etc. The AAP cautions participants in CE courses about the potential risks of using limited knowledge when incorporating new techniques and procedures in their practice, especially when the course has not provided supervised clinical experience.